Some Of Our Guest Reviews......

Since Irinikos Villa first came online in June 2005 we have had the pleasure of playing host to many guests from across Europe. Below are a few recent reviews that we have received from our guests on their return. Before we post anything to our website we alays make sure that it has been approved by our guests for us to do so and share it with all of you. We like to think of our guests as extensions to our family especially since we get to know each other from the moment you make an enquiry until your return home and beyond then. 2014 reviews are now beginin to come in.

Jean and Malcolm Crawford MAY 2014

Hi David and Veronica,

We had a super holiday at Villa Irinikos. The villa is lovely and the views are spectacular from every angle. We were well looked after by Cheryl and Stefanos who popped in several times to clean the pool. The villa itself was immaculate and we were in the pool most days which was great.  We loved all the different seating and sunbathing areas and would usually have our first meal of the day outside the main doors on the breakfast patio.  If we had lunch at the villa we usually sat in the shade by the pool and we spent many hours on the sunbeds under the large parasol.  Evenings were perfect, sitting outside with sunset dropping behind the village while the moon rose behind us over another mountain. We walked through the olive groves every day – there are some lovely tracks, short or long whatever your mood.

Most mornings we went into Panormos and we ate several times at Fanari’s and Kastro’s as you suggested and had some lovely meals there. We were also able to use the Wi-Fi at Kastro’s to update our Kindle with the Telegraph app and keep in touch. We visited several places whilst we were there, Knossos Palace, the Melidoni Caves (which were stunning!), Arkadi Monastery, Anogia and Rethymno. We also spent many days just lazing by the pool doing nothing of course.  All in all we had a super time.  We love Crete, it's much more fertile and prettier than Cyprus so we look forward to returning at some point in the future.

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Mavis and Arthur Long. October 2013

Hi Veronica and David

This was our 3rd stay in the villa. We came for a month in May and then decided on a list minute 2 week break in October. What can we say, this is such a wonderful place and a great villa. The owners seems to have thought of everything from DVDs, hair dryer, barbecues, sun loungers etc. Over the couple of years we have been coming it seems to get better and better. The location is so beautiful. You do need a car and it won’t suit people who want the nightclub sort of holiday. This is simple, if you want tranquillity, beauty and relaxation this is for you. The villa is 5 minutes’ drive from a quaint fishing village with several Taverna’s or 20 minutes from Rethymno a busy town with a great market and shopping. The owners have sorted us out car hire which is cheap, reliable and can be picked up from the airport. I cannot recommend this villa highly enough and will be going again next year. Recommended for : Girls getaway, sightseeing and romantic holiday, families who love the sun and want a private holiday with their own pool..... Thank you so much David and Veronica …

 

Patrick & Angela Keegan - September 2013

This was our first visit to Irinikos Villa and on our return we were invited to write a review so… Your introduction to us and the way you dealt with our enquiry left nothing to be desired, great and thank you. Your website is an informative extremely well put together guide that we used a lot as we planned the holiday. On our arrival Ann was very welcoming and had plenty of good advice to offer about the local area. The villa itself was great, everything we'd hoped for and more. We particularly liked the pool and surrounding patio areas which was where we spent much of our time. Eating breakfast and planning our time, beside the pool, with the view of the mountains in the background was a special way to begin the day. We can’t think of anything we disliked and there were only a couple of little points like a few screws working loose and fridge door that we had to make sure was closed properly but they didn’t affect our stay at all.

Regarding rental price and value for money, we both thought it was under-priced! We thought it was worth more than we paid...and felt a little guilty about that. I would strongly recommend the whole experience to anyone and would repeat the whole thing in a heartbeat. We're sat here wishing we were back there again right now. We used a well-known car rental because of the deal they were offering at the time we booked the flights, big mistake. Service was poor and we spent over two hours waiting for it in the airport. Angela and I would like to thank both of you for allowing us to spend what was for us, a very special couple of weeks in your villa. Crete is a beautiful place and its people are warm and friendly. The food was excellent, the sea warm and the entire experience a magical one. Our deepest thanks and warm regards to you both.

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Christine and Paul Jarrett - July 2013

"We've just come back from a fantastic two week family holiday at Irinikos Villa. The villa is well-equipped, beautifully furnished and situated in a peaceful mountain location with amazing views across the valley. Whilst enjoying sightseeing and exploring the island we have also just loved simply chilling out by the poolside. Crete is a very mountainous country as we discovered driving through the interior. The sea however is never far away from any point on the island, just what you need for a well-deserved dip after yet another punishing day's sightseeing.

Our highlights have included hiking through the beautiful Samaria Gorge (with an overnight stop at the helpful Osmalos Nero Hotel), driving through the beautiful, heroic Amari valley villages which were the last bastions of resistance in the second world war, visiting the moving Spinalonga Island, (setting for the true story of "The Island" by Victoria Hislop), marvelling at the ancient wonders of Knossos Palace and then back again to the simple pleasures of the perfect, unspoilt sandy beach and warm sea at our local village of Panormo. Eating organic, locally grown fruit and vegetables that actually taste like they should taste, was great. We would recommend this experience to all our family and friends”. Thanks David and Veronica for all your help with what was a really great holiday! Best wishes.

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Phil and Jan Ottiwell - June 2013

We had such a wonderful time at Irinikos Villa in 2010 that we decided another holiday, after we retired would be a great idea. We recall it was with great reluctance that we returned home last time. Janet said that she'd hide in the villa until we missed our flight but I thought that would be a little difficult to explain to the next guests! So we contacted Veronica and David earlier this year who remembered us well of course. They were as always, full of information and advice which helped us enormously. Ann & Bill were very welcoming, as usual and gave us some excellent information on new gorge walks in the area, a favourite past time of ours. The one near Patsos close to the Potami dam, called Agias Antonio was beautiful. Perhaps you could add it to the site for others to see.

The improvements you have made to the villa since we last visited were great to see and of course have the pleasure of being able to use. We spent a lot of time soaking in the sun and recharging our batteries by the pool on this visit, the new breakfast patio are with those fantastic views were a real bonus and our first port of call every morning!! Tiling your pool has made a real difference and it adds a little more ambiance to the whole experience, the traditional dolphin is a nice touch. The villa was lovely and clean and has obviously been well looked after since we last visited. I notice that you have painted it in a more traditional colour and it looks quite charming.

Your hard work on the garden since our last visit has paid dividends and I've attached a few pictures for you to use on your new website which by the way is a pleasure to browse through. As promised, I watered some of the plants that I thought needed more help to cope with the heat in the evenings. I also rigged up a couple of slow feed water bottles for the potted plants and let a litre run through overnight. You'll probably recall from 2010 and various emails since then, we are looking to buy a home on Crete and have spent some time during this visit looking at suitable & mainly unsuitable properties (By the way, if you ever decide to sell your villa, please let us because know, we really love it!). We may see you again in the future and will certainly be telling our friends and family what a dream house it really is. Oh well, that was yet another fantastic holiday that we won't forget in a hurry, thank you so much for sharing your lovely villa with us again. Best wishes to you both and keep in touch, always nice to hear from you.

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Lorraine & John Pauley - September 2012

Dear David & Veronica... This was our second visit to Irinikos Villa. We had such a lovely time last year that we decided it would be great to revisit. Browsing through the pictures we took then only added to the anticipation of this holiday as it approached. It was just as though we had walked back into our home when we got there. Most mornings we would sit on the breakfast patio and have our first meal of the day, losing ourselves in the peace and tranquillity of the surrounding area. Sometimes there would be a hawk (or kestrel?) hovering over the olive groves. I can honestly say, that as soon as we arrived in Crete, all the stress and anxiety we have from work and the general stresses of life just disappear, replaced by a feeling of calm and content. Some of our friends have questioned us as to whether or not we get bored just chilling out around the pool and not being surrounded by people as would be the case if we had stayed in a hotel… the answer is simply… "NO"… It's paradise!

If we want to be surrounded by people, the village is very close and the people there are so friendly that you never feel alone. Every time we visit we make another friend somewhere along the line. Last year it was your neighbours and we enjoyed all the little chats we had with various ones when we went for a walk. This year we met Cheryl and Stefanos who are really wonderful people who made us feel so welcome. Is that one of Stefanos' ' chickens wandering around the lower garden? Cheryl had us in stitches with her tales of the cockerel

We would not have any hesitation whatsoever in recommending your villa to anyone at all. We loved it there so much that we are actively looking to buy in that area. I have even printed off your traditional family recipes from the website for John to cook LOL… he doesn't know it yet so it will be a nice surprise for him. I have made sure everyone in work has listened to the websites Greek soundtracks, but now I am banned from playing them anymore… well, just at work that is. Our special thanks to you both for allowing us to spend a few magical weeks at you villa, they have given us memories we will not forget for a long time to come.

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Stuart, Carolyn & Joseph Adams. July 2012

Hi again David & Veronica... We had an absolutely wonderful time at your delightful villa. Both of us are seasoned villa holiday guests and we must say that your villa rates as one of the very best we have stayed at. The location is just stunning with those wonderful views and it has total privacy - you are not overlooked by the neighbours whilst in and around the pool which was a point that was very high on my wife's shopping list! Joseph, our 10 year old, more or less lived in the pool and it was used by all 3 of us every day over the whole 2 weeks. The weather was outstanding - not a drop of rain and cloudless skies all the way!! I am wishing myself back there already. We did not travel too far, but went to Knossos Palace, Rethymno, Water City Joseph loved it here!), Kourna Lake, the Gorge recommended by Ann and Bill (Agia Antonio), Bali, Panormos and Perama lovely bakery!!), along with many other places all along the northern coast. Thank you for sharing your delightful villa with us and if you are still letting it out in the future we would certainly look at returning again in a few years’ time. Thanks and best wishes to you both.

 

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Next review...

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________